30 Days Wild: Day 1

Hurrah, it’s the first day of 30 Days Wild! So what did I get up to today?

I definitely find that having a full time job means my time spent being wild gets pushed aside during the week. So I’m glad today I made myself go out and seize the (wild) moment. The pouring rain shuddered to a stop and the sun peeped through the clouds so I grabbed my book and headed out in my lunch break.

I chose the wildest place I could find near my office. Although Grantham, where I work, is sounded by beautiful countryside, woodland and a great parkland estate none of it was reachable within an hour. So I settled for a little patch of trees on a grassy area next to a bowling alley. Not my ideal natural spot but certainly a touch of wild.

I took some time to take in the trees and the brightness of their leaves at this time of year. I also noticed this apparently yellow tree, covered in lichen! Quite interesting, I wonder if it’s an indicator of something like clean air? Which would be surprising at this spot. I sat on the wet grass (I always wonder why everyone whines about sitting in wet grass! I just sat on my coat). There was a strong breeze blowing but it was really refreshing and relaxed me after being sat in a stuffy office all morning.

After taking in my surroundings I got out my book. Very apt for being wild this month, it’s The Bees by Laline Paull (find out more here). I even got visited by a couple of bees whilst reading!  So my time being wild today did manage to include wildlife of some kind.

So a good first day, and certainly a better day for it! I felt like I’d had a proper break over lunch and made an otherwise dull rainy day more exciting.

If you’ve been taking part in the challenge, how was your first day? What did you get up to? I’d love to hear from you!

4 thoughts on “30 Days Wild: Day 1

  1. Went out in the rain for my first Random Act of Wildness to photograph wildflowers. Perhaps not what I originally intended to do, but I might end up doing something similar today unless the weather gets better. Oh well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds pretty good! I’ve not seen many wildlflowers yet. Though I’ve been lucky and missed the rain so far, though I’d like to go out in a thunderstorm for one of my 30 wild things, that would be fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

