30 Days Wild: Day 2 and 3

I’m really enjoying the challenge so far, I’m beginning to find myself filled with excitement throughout the day as I think about what wild thing I can find to do at the end of it!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_02

So yesterday’s attempt at being wild was less exciting than some but the weather was horrific and odd, with howling autumn winds that destroyed half our garden. Yet it is so warm at the moment, the weather can’t decide what it wants to do. Climate change, anyone?

So I decided to draw a wild creature to decorate this blog, a bee. I also shared it on Instagram, to share the wildness as the Wildlife Trust suggests. It was really interesting to look at a bee so closely and noticing all the little details and range of colours. I used deqtiq marker, my favourite tools for creating art at the moment. Bees are beautiful. Here is my drawing, which is also featured on my blog banner above, but sadly does not fit very well!

prof pic

For today, with the weather being so stunning I decided to go explore the nearest park to me, which is the meadows in Stamford. I’ve not lived here long so I’ve only properly explored it once a couple of weeks ago, even so it had changed dramatically, some of the wild plants had grown taller than me!

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_03

I took my Canon G12 with me and headed to the river. It’s a stunning time of day to go out exploring with the sun low and the birds all singing at the top of their voices as the day draws to a close.

First wildlife of the day, a moorhen hiding from me
First wildlife of the day, a moorhen hiding from me
The river was covered in floating fluff from shedding plants, looked quite ethereal under the silver trees
This part of the river was covered in floating fluff from shedding plants, looked quite ethereal under the silver trees
Love the reflections in this photo (also love having a half decent camera!)
Love the reflections in this photo (also love having a half decent camera!)
One for sorrow...
One for sorrow…
Pretty sunlight
Pretty sunlight

I walked along the river and glimpsed a flash of white. A beautiful river bird I have never seen before. I couldn’t get close enough to take a good photo.

Little Egret through the leaves
Little Egret through the leaves

In my attempts to get a better photo I scared the little egret away. So I turned around, back upriver, to head for home.

Can't get over how pretty it was!
Can’t get over how pretty it was!

As I headed back a little while later I came across the egret again! I scared it away again (sad times) but managed to capture a photo of it in midflight, so I’m happy!

Flying Little Egret  ( I think that's what it was from looking it up after, let me know if I'm wrong!)
Flying Little Egret ( I think that’s what it was from looking it up after, let me know if I’m wrong!)

A lovely evening well spent. I hope everyone else’s day has gone well 🙂

Leave a Reply

