30 Days Wild: Day 26

TWT 30 Days Wild_countdown_26

I did plan on going to Rutland Water today to see the ospreys but apparently the reserve shuts at 5pm, so that was not very helpful! So me and the boyfriend will head there tomorrow, exciting!

So instead I headed back to Stamford Meadows. I did however take a different path I had not yet explored. Stamford Meadows now seems a bit more meadow like to me than it did a few weeks ago with a more wild selection of plants and the appearance of insect life. Though perhaps I just wasn’t exploring in the right places until today!

IMG_3972

Almost as soon as I reached the high foliage I saw a flash of dark purple blue, some wild creature I startled. Another species I haven’t seen before. I let it settle, then followed it to take a photo. So pleased I managed to get a good shot! It’s such a gorgeous colour. A sign I later came across on my walk told me it was a Banded Demoiselle.

Banded Demoiselle
Banded Demoiselle
Banded Demoiselle in flight
Banded Demoiselle in flight

I saw many butterflies and managed to get a good photo of only one of them. They liked sitting on the path in front of my feet, I was worried I was going to step on them!

Small tortoiseshell
Small tortoiseshell

I then walked along the river and came across a duck family, they all were dipping their heads into the water and paddling against the current. The parent teaching the young ones perhaps?

IMG_3981

I sat by the river for a little while and saw lots of Banded Demoiselles hovering and dancing above it.

IMG_3982

I then made a little raft with the twigs I could find and jute twine I brought with me. It’s one of the Wildlife Trust’s suggested Random Acts of Wildness. Don’t worry the twine I used is biodegradeable!

IMG_3987

I set a sail further up the river at some human made rapids but it vanished underwater sadly! The rain soon came down after that (seriously where is summer?!) so I headed for home. But I decided to take another path I had not properly checked out before.

IMG_3993

But the path, although pretty, ended up being much wilder then anticipated, so I got very stung by stinging nettles and thistles. 😦

But I was rewarded by stumbling across lots of striking damselflies! So certainly a productive wild day.

IMG_3995

IMG_3997

Leave a Reply

