30 Days Wild: Days 21-25 Overview

30DAYSWILD_ID1 black

I’ve been a bit lapse over the past week with blogging about my wild adventures. It’s been a hectic week with working in Peterborough, general life and my car breaking down which meant lack of transport and staying with my parents much of the week while car was fixed. And I had no access to my laptop or decent internet (curse of living in the country). So I’m sorry dear followers and readers for my inactivity! I’ve still been fairly successful at being a bit wild everyday, however. Here’s a bit of an overview of what I’ve been up to.

I’ve been researching wild local events and outdoor volunteering I could get involved in, especially with the local Wildlife Trusts (I’m surrounded by three!). Also found lots of habitat restoring/creation volunteering with Froglife. I found out about some local groups and a Red Kite talk. There’s also lots of events at Rutland Water such as bird ringing, which I’m really keen to get involved in.

I’ve been gathering some natural things for my 30 Days Wild ‘nature table’.

Pine cones, magpie feather and Canadian goose feather. Collected another speckled feather today but it's vanished from my bag.
Pine cones, magpie feather and Canadian goose feather. Collected another speckled feather today but it’s vanished from my bag.

Most of my wild time this week came from just being in the countryside at home with my family. They have a wonderful big garden and an overgrown orchard (after all the trees were removed). I love just being in it, playing with the many dogs!

IMG_3934

Young oak tree my dad recently discovered, we had no idea it was growing in our garden! It was hiding behind shrubs and a birch.
Young oak tree my dad recently discovered, we had no idea it was growing in our garden! It was hiding behind shrubs and a birch.
Pair of Goldfinches
Pair of Goldfinches in their ideal habitat
Our giant Hose Chestnut Tree, I always loved it growing up.
Our giant Horse Chestnut Tree, I always loved it growing up.
Sadly our tree is suffering from a disease. Tree disease is increasingy becoming a huge problem for trees and woodland.
Sadly our tree is suffering from a disease. Tree disease is increasingly becoming a huge problem for trees and woodland in the UK.
Pond snail
Pond snail
Water Boatmen
Water Boatmen

The best wild part of the past few days was last night when walking home from the pub with my housemate. We came across a hedgehog in the middle of the pavement, just trundling along! Wonderful! He was gorgeous and adorable, I’ve never ever seen a hedgehog that close before. Only ever glimpsed them in the distance or seen dead ones. This was such a thrill, made my week (or month!) Sadly we didn’t manage a photo as it was too dark for our phones.

Chilling with the “wild” wolf pack 😛

 

It’s been a fun week! I hope all yours have been too!

Leave a Reply

