Recommended Reads: It’s not all bad news

sunrise-sun-pinwheel-windrader-163317
Image: Pexel

It’s been a while since I shared one of these blogs. I guess for the past few months I’ve been holding the news and much of the general internet at a distance. Too much indulgence fills me with sadness¬†and terror now that the ¬†Trumpkin-faced idiot is ruling the world, with no regard for the environment amongst a long list of awful things he is unleashing on us. And with Article 50 officially invoked here in the UK, it seems our greatest achievement right now as a nation is the fact we’re not America. I now loosely keep up to date with the news, still at a slight distance, but I don’t let the details overwhelm me. It’s a necessary trick as an environmental campaigner.

But depressing you was not the aim of this blog! Despite my dark moments of late, I always come back to realise that we cannot give up, that are far more good people than bad in this world and good things still and will happen. I heard someone say recently that much of the change we fight for now might not arrive for a long time but it is happening and that’s just more reason to keep going.

The opposition all over the world to Trump has at least shown one thing to me, just how much we care and that I need not feel alone in the battle. It’s up to us to not lose hope and (as mentioned below) to not just smother our fears and actions in anger. It’s also up to us to find common ground, not division, to learn how it feels to stand in someone else’s shoes. Because that’s one of the challenges that has caused a lot of this mess.

So here’s some of the reads I’ve come across in the past few months on the good news that has slipped off the radar and some great articles on how we can all help make the world a better place.

Good news

How to make the world a better place

 

I hope that’s helped to make you all feel a little better about the state of the world and renewed hope to continue standing up for what’s right.

 

Update: WordPress just told me this is my 50th blog post! Wow, how did that happen? Another reason to celebrate!

Leave a Reply

